Raw or ECN-style accounts advertise spreads from 0.0 pips and add a per-lot commission. To compare them you need to turn the commission into a round-turn cost and look at average spreads, not just the minimum. Here is what six brokers publish.
| Broker and account | Published spread | Published commission | Round-turn commission per lot |
|---|---|---|---|
| FP Markets Raw | Average EUR/USD 0.1 pips (September 2026 table) | US$3 per side | US$6 |
| Tickmill Raw | From 0.0 pips | US$3 per lot per side | US$6 |
| FxPro Raw+ | Zero spreads for over 90% of the trading day | Up to US$3.50 per lot per side | Up to US$7 |
| Exness Raw Spread | From 0 pips | Up to US$3.50 per side per lot | Up to US$7 |
| HFM Zero | From 0.0 pips on forex | Starting at US$3 per lot | Basis (per side or round turn) not stated on the pages we read |
| XM Zero | Not listed on the account page we read | USD 7 per USD 100,000 traded (XM CySEC costs document) | Basis (per side or round turn) not stated in the document we read |
What the table tells you
On commission alone, the accounts that publish US$3 per side cost about US$6 to open and close one standard lot, and those that cap at US$3.50 per side cost up to US$7. That is before the spread. Only FP Markets publishes a dated average spread for the pair (0.1 pips, which adds about US$1 per lot), giving an all-in cost of about US$7 per lot. For the others, ‘from 0.0 pips’ is a best case.
Read the fine print
- ‘From’ spreads describe the tightest moment, often for a small share of the day. Average spreads are more useful.
- Commission can be quoted per side, per round turn, per lot or per US$1 million traded. Convert them to the same unit.
- Commission may be charged in your account currency at a different rate (FP Markets lists US$3, €2.75 or £2.25 per side).
- The regulated entity you join, not the brand, decides which account types and leverage you can use.
Key takeaway
Add the round-turn commission to the average spread for the pair you trade, then compare live spreads on a demo account.
- FP Markets: forex spreads
- Tickmill: accounts overview
- FxPro: account types
- Exness: pro accounts
- HFM: trading accounts
- XM: costs and charges (CySEC)
Newsletter
New reviews and scam alerts, by email.
A short email when we publish a new review, update a rating or spot a broker to avoid. No trading tips, no spam, and you can unsubscribe at any time.
Thanks, you are subscribed.
We use your email only to send the newsletter. See our disclaimer.
General information for education only, not financial advice. Trading forex and CFDs carries a high risk of loss. Read the disclaimer.